Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ineligible for Stimulus Check because of Social Security Number - erroneous data

Highlighted
Level 1

I am a green card holder and have had my green card and social security number for 30 years. When I first received my social security card (when we moved to the US with my father's job), I received a card that said "not valid for employment". However, within three years we all had green cards and I have been working in the United States since the age of 16 (I am now 40). I do not understand why I was denied the stimulus check on the grounds that my social security number is "not valid for employment" while I have been working for the past 24 years and paying taxes. Would anyone have any ideas of how to remedy this situation and get my stimulus check? I have recently lost my teaching job due to COVID circumstances and need this money more than ever. 

0 Cheers
6 Replies 6
Highlighted
Level 15
Level 15

"I do not understand why I was denied the stimulus check on the grounds that my social security number is "not valid for employment" while I have been working for the past 24 years and paying taxes. "

You got some kind of correspondence that said you were not eligible due to your SSN?

♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥Lisa♥¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪
0 Cheers
Highlighted
Level 1

Yes, I finally go through to someone on the IRS stimulus check phone number and that is what they said. I also called the tax payer advocate line and they came up with the same information 

0 Cheers
Highlighted
Level 15
Level 15

A quick google search says that is correct...

So, who is eligible for the CARES Act payment?

The Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”) states that qualified individuals must meet the following requirements:

1. Be a U.S. citizen or U.S. resident alien;*
2. Cannot be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s tax return;