Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ineligible for Stimulus Check because of Social Security Number - erroneous data

sashajh
Level 2

I am a green card holder and have had my green card and social security number for 30 years. When I first received my social security card (when we moved to the US with my father's job), I received a card that said "not valid for employment". However, within three years we all had green cards and I have been working in the United States since the age of 16 (I am now 40). I do not understand why I was denied the stimulus check on the grounds that my social security number is "not valid for employment" while I have been working for the past 24 years and paying taxes. Would anyone have any ideas of how to remedy this situation and get my stimulus check? I have recently lost my teaching job due to COVID circumstances and need this money more than ever. 

This discussion has been locked. New comments cannot be posted on this discussion anymore. Start a new discussion

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Wolfman44
Level 1

In the same boat. IRS told me the same thing- ss not valid for employment.  Checked the law to see what it says and it states that  an eligible individual must include a ‘valid identification number (numbers for jont return’ .  A valid number means ‘a social security number’. There is no requirement in the law that the ss number be ‘valid for employment’.  This is a fabrication of the Dept of Treasury in an attempt to make sure illegal immigrants cannot get money. I understand that the gov does not want this, but  I cannot believe their are many ineligible individuals who have ss numbers.  Most n this category  file taxes with ITIN. I have filed taxes 25 years with ss number. That to me make it valid.

View solution in original post

60 Comments 60
Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15