Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RMD reduced by prior year RMD

poolcleaner
Level 9

My client failed to take all of the 2023 RMD from his IRA in 2023.  This was corrected in January 2024 by taking the remaining 2023 RMD plus earnings from January 1st through the date of withdrawal. Now the trustee (who was the culprit on the missing RMD)  has sent information to the client showing the correct 2024 RMD but subtracting the makeup 2023 distribution and its earnings to reduce the amount he needs to withdraw for the 2024 RMD. I think they are totally wrong in that calculation.  Am I correct? 

Another Former All Star

0 Cheers
17 Comments 17
abctax55
Level 15

Jane, I'm not good at math <w> but the 2024 RMD is based on the ending balance of the account a/o 12.31.23.   IF you have that figure, does the math work?

"*******Tax software is no substitute for a professional tax preparer*******
( Generic Comment )"
rbynaker
Level 13

It sounds like someone is confusing a corrective distribution of an excess contribution with a missed RMD.

The 2024 RMD is calculated based on the FMV of the account on 12/31/23.

The missed 2023 RMD is reported on the 2023 Form 5329 Part IX with a waiver request for "reasonable cause" and $0 penalty (something perhaps more polite than "trustee action resulted in an ID10T error".)  All of my RC waiver requests include a statement that the missed RMD has been taken and procedures have been put in place to prevent the error for happening again.

I suspect the IRS may start pushing back on RC waivers now that the penalty is lower but I haven't seen that in practice yet.  Time will tell, until then I plan to continue requesting reasonable cause waivers.

Rick

Added: I started this then got a call from a client and see that Anna also chimed in with a similar response.

poolcleaner
Level 9