Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transgender dependent.

garman22
Level 13
Level 13

Taxpayer/Spouse have a trans-gendered dependent who legally changed their name and I am changing daughter to son. Any thoughts or potential issues changing relationship status?

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

7 Comments 7
Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15

No, IRS only cross matches Last name SSN and year of birth.

♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥Lisa♥¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪
garman22
Level 13
Level 13

Thanks, Lis! I have not dealt with that one before so, I was a little unsure. 

Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15

🙂

RandyAZ
Level 3

Lisa, I'm a gay accountant in AZ and certainly am dealing with gay issues, you say that IRS checks with SSA on last name and SSN only for matches.  What about first names, a Sue to a Bill, no problems?  Does the transgender individual need a new SSA card?    Thanks all for the discussion !!  

garman22
Level 13
Level 13

@RandyAZ wrote:

Lisa, I'm a gay accountant in AZ and certainly am dealing with gay issues, you say that IRS checks with SSA on last name and SSN only for matches.  What about first names, a Sue to a Bill, no problems?  Does the transgender individual need a new SSA card?    Thanks all for the discussion !!  

My clients child did get a new card but the SSN is the same. That was my concern re: name and relationship. Would that throw the IRS off? I am unsure how hard they look at that.

Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15

First names aren't cross matched.  First 4 letters of the last name need to match the SSN and I "think" the year of birth does as well, although Ive never had one reject for year of birth, so I cant say for sure.

The-Tax-Lady
Level 9