Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to handle 36 pages of form 8949 and two pages of Schedule D

E AND M
Level 2

Hello,

My client sent me 36 pages of 8949 and two pages of Schedule D  from his crypto currency transactions.

This is my first time dealing with such number of pages.

Could you please advise me how I can enter this in proSeries?

Thank you

0 Cheers
19 Comments 19

I only see two options, assuming you are keeping the client:

1.  Print out return and substitute clients Forms 8949 with those generated by program after you make one total entry each for each type of 8949 transaction (Box A, Box B, etc),  and mail in return; OR

2.  Have client provide you instead of the Forms 8949 the Excel spreadsheets which the crypto company also provided him.  Put those into a pdf and attach to return.  Take the totals for each type of Form 8949 transaction (Box A, Box B, etc) and enter on 1099B Worksheet by type something like this in the description area "XYZ Co. Crypto Transactions - See Detail Attached".  Those total will then print on Forms 8949.

Option 2 is the way to proceed.

E AND M
Level 2

Thank you so much

0 Cheers
athaureaux6
Level 8

I take one from each, (short and long) and use the information from the summary. 1098-B. I have never had a problem with that. 

0 Cheers
dascpa
Level 11

Got one from client with 18,000+ pages of crypto.  I calculated he did 180 transactions per hour for every business day of the year.  ProSeries will not accept a .pdf file this large.

0 Cheers

Are you serious?  Wow!

0 Cheers
rbynaker
Level 13

Holy carp Batman!

I'm temped to ask . . . what was the bottom line gain on all that?  Was it worth the trouble?  Jot down the phone number from the next Gambling infomercial you see . . . someone needs help.

athaureaux6
Level 8