Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Form W4

rcooley25
Level 11

I have prepared several income tax returns over the last few days that have had unpleasant answers due to how the w4 was filled out when they joined a new company. Are the new w4s that complicated or are the people just plain stupid or is it both?

0 Cheers
16 Comments 16
jeffmcpa2010
Level 11

I choose answer #2

How hard is it to look at your pay stub and compare the withholding to one from the prior company?

garman22
Level 13
Level 13

I dont blame people. 

IRS/Company: its your responsibility to make sure you are having the proper withholding. 

Me: Do I look like a f*cking tax person, am I in payroll??? Im a friggin electrician!!

Now, if they withhold a ridiculously low amount, thats on the person. 

rcooley25
Level 11

That is what I am trying to say.

It is all of their faults.

When the taxpayer notices a small amount being withheld they dont have to be a rocket scientist  to realize that something is wrong.

I had this one client that had a wife who decided to go back to work this year. She earned $38000.00 dollars and when I looked at her w2 it said that only $68.00 withheld for federal income taxes. Put that income on to her husbands $140000.00 salary and boy did she ever have a pissed off husband.

By the way, you left the letter U off of your response.

rcooley25
Level 11

It is very .hard to do when you have the IQ of an Nin com poop

qbteachmt
Level 15

See:

https://www.reddit.com/r/taxpros/comments/1216b8q/anyone_else_seeing_an_increase_in_underwithheld/

and last year, too:

https://www.reddit.com/r/taxpros/comments/u1japy/so_many_people_underwithheld_this_year/