Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pennsylvania resident with NJ income

pbp
Level 3

I have a PA resident that has New Jersey income I understand there is reciprocity for those states.  How do I show this on the tax return to get their refund.  The program will not let me send NJ without income and Federal will not let me put in 1.00 for the state if with-holding is larger than income. 

Help please

0 Cheers
17 Comments 17
GodFather
Level 8

I assume the income is W2 Wages?  I thought within the New Jersey Non-Resident return, there was an option to click on the wages field, allowing you to manually change the field to Zero.  That should allow the withholdings to be refunded in total.  

This is my first year using ProSeries, so lets see what other comments you receive.  

pbp
Level 3

You are correct the income is W-2 wages.  Not sure where you see the option to change the income. 

0 Cheers
GodFather
Level 8

The column on the NJ140-NR entitled Income attributed to New Jersey there is a magnifying glass near the field.  Click on the magnifying glass and change wages to zero.  

0 Cheers
itonewbie
Level 15

Try doing the same thing as explained in the old post but on the NJ-1040NR instead of PA return and see if that works: https://proconnect.intuit.com/community/proseries-tax-discussions/discussion/nj-resident-worked-in-p...

Just remember to attach the PA residency statement to the NJ return and submit NJ-165 to the employer.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Still an AllStar
pbp
Level 3