Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Property - MFS - Nonres return for non-Community Property State

MC4
Level 1

I have a married couple domiciled in NM filing separately. One spouse has some of her wages sourced to CO. Since CO works off of federal AGI/filing status, I'm unsure how to prepare the CO return(s).

Do I prepare 2 MFS returns for CO, each showing half the CO wages/tax withheld?

Or do I mock up a federal MFS return for that spouse without the 8958 allocations to get her amounts to flow through to CO? In which case, I imagine the CO return can't be e-filed, since CO is a piggyback filing state.

0 Cheers
7 Comments 7
BobKamman
Level 15

@qbteachmt is the expert around here for married couples with income from both community property and non-community property states.   

qbteachmt
Level 15

Thanks for that shout-out, but I am no expert for community States or multiple States or even individual States. There are some things I follow closely and stay current on, and there are some things I happen to have researched or will research, but far from an expert.

https://www.irs.gov/publications/p555

NM is a community property State, so that would all be split. CO is a martial property State, similar to mine. You didn't note if that was earned with a presence in CO, or by remote work, or? A nonresident is required to file a Colorado income tax return if they: are required to file a federal income tax return, and had taxable Colorado-sourced income.

"Married taxpayers who file their federal income tax returns separately must also file their Colorado income tax returns separately."

From: https://tax.colorado.gov/income-tax-topics-part-year-residents-nonresidents

And: https://tax.colorado.gov/part-year-and-nonresident

"Level Up" is a gaming function, not a real life function.
0 Cheers
MC4
Level 1