Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I take a loss from a prior year (1120H) and carry it into the year I am doing that has a small gain?

shf1957
Level 7

I am new on the 1120H form. If I understand correctly the federal and nys forms for the HOA can not be efiled and have to be mail ins.  

My main issue is over the past numerous years they've has losses.  But in the year I am doing there is a small gain.  ( They collected a little more money than what some repairs were to cost)   Can the loss from 2020 be carried over into 2021 to wipe that gain out?  And if so how?   The gain was around 2700 and it is showing a federal tax liability of around 800 and state around 200.   

I've been doing taxes for over 30 years but this is my first HOA  (1120H).

Thank you in advance for any and ALL help you can offer me.  

0 Cheers
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
dd4vols
Level 10
Level 10

I do about ten 1120-H for HOA's. For many years.  You are making this WAAAAAAY too hard. 

Put the dues received on Line B.  Put the total expenditures on LIne C AND Line D.

There is no need at all to have a list of expenditures.  Unless, you did something like play the Lotto and win, etc.  all expenditures that meet the 90% test __which is usually all of them are then on line D.  

There is NO profit/loss unless you do non-HOA transactions.  Well, except the $100 exemption, which was mentioned above by @Terry53029    So you end up with a $100 net loss.

If an answer solves your issue, click on the "Accept as Solution" button! Makes it easier for people to find answers to similar questions that have already been posted.

View solution in original post

13 Comments 13
Terry53029
Level 14
Level 14

Note that dues are exempt income. See this link, and study it carefully:  https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/528

shf1957
Level 7