Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2023 Converson

ELS VA
Level 3

Is the conversion feature for 2022 returns available? I am new to ProSeries. Thanks.

0 Cheers
17 Comments 17
Jim-from-Ohio
Level 11

You can transfer clients from 2022 to 2023, yes.  In professional a box comes up when I open the 2023 program asking if I want to transfer clients from last year.  If that does not pop up you can transfer clients from last year by clicking on the Transfer button near the top of the 2023 progam and follow prompts form there.. Just a heads up, you may want to wait a while to transfer clients as this has caused a problem in the past when transferred before updates to that year's program were installed. 

ELS VA
Level 3

Thanks but I probably wasn't clear enough. My clients are not in proseries. I will be converting them from another software program for 2023. I was asking if the conversion feature was ready. Thanks again.

rbynaker
Level 13

No idea how ProSeries suggests you do this.  What I would do would be to convert 2022 clients from your prior software to 2022 ProSeries.  Then verify the converted files vs. the original returns filed in the old software.  Generally speaking there are often things "lost in translation" and you probably don't want to wait until Feb/Mar/Apr to figure out what didn't convert well.  Pay attention to depreciation, carryovers (such as PALs, 179, etc.), and state returns (I would be shocked if ProSeries even converts state returns).

That will give you some time to practice with the 2022 ProSeries software before jumping into 2023 tax season/software.