Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I set up a residence that is being used as a rental for depreciation reporting purpose?

Residence is being used for rental.  Where do I set it up for initial year reporting?
0 Cheers
10 Comments 10
IRonMaN
Level 15

You probably want to start by entering the house as an asset for depreciation.  But always remember, part of the cost is for land and that isn’t depreciable.

Slava Ukraini!

Hi and thank you for the reply.

Yes, I understand that I need to enter the house as an asset for depreciation... I also need to add a washer/dryer and some window treatments I want to take the Section 179 deduction on.  I'm a former IRS auditor so I understand also that land is not depreciable... It's my first time using ProConnect software and the issue is I can't figure out where I go to enter these assets?

0 Cheers

Specifically... where to go in the software.  I'm having a brain freeze.

0 Cheers
IRonMaN
Level 15

It was 20 below last night, but I think I did successfully avoid brain freeze.  But since I use ProSeries, I can't point you in the right direction on that one.

Slava Ukraini!
0 Cheers

Thanks for trying.

PhoebeRoberts
Level 11
Level 11

Depreciation screen is under Deductions. In Lacerte (which looks a lot like ProConnect), it's the first item under Deductions.

There's also a Depreciation link at the top of the Sch E input screen that will take you to the same place.

rbynaker
Level 13

If Phoebe's help doesn't get you there, maybe @George4Tacks can help.

For Section 179, doesn't the rental activity need to rise to the level of a trade or business in order to qualify?  Either way, be consistent with 179, QBI, 1099s.

0 Cheers
George4Tacks
Level 15