Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Physical signature of form 8879 instead of e-signatures.

EddieO84
Level 2

Hi community, 

This is my first year with Proconnect, and I have a question that I'm trying to see if anybody can help me out with it. I know that I can send e-sign requests to my clients so they can sign form 8879, but can I have a client physically sign form 8879 and then upload them to the tax documents that are going to be e-filed instead of sending them a e-sign request?   

0 Cheers
1 Best Answer

Accepted Solutions
itonewbie
Level 15

Nothing is automatic.  You still need to enter the client's signature date at the very least (which is a manual entry and not a "click") and your client's PIN, if not computer generated.  Once all is done, it would be prudent to go through the diagnostics again to make sure you have an all-clear.

For anything related to tax law and regulatory process, I would also be hesitant to rely on what Intuit Support says because they are simply not training in tax (at least for most of them).

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Still an AllStar

View solution in original post

11 Comments 11
abctax55
Level 15

Signed F-879's are for your files; they don't go to the IRS whether electronically sign or wet signed.

"*******Tax software is no substitute for a professional tax preparer*******
( Generic Comment )"
itonewbie
Level 15

So, the short answer is yes.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Still an AllStar
EddieO84
Level 2