Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there something else that would cause a return to be rejected for name/SSN mismatch? Names and SSN have been verified multiple times.

abrownpa1979
Level 1

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

4 Comments 4
garman22
Level 13
Level 13

If I have checked and double checked numerous times, I would consider paper file (that would not be preferable during these times). 

Have you looked at their SS cards? Is this a new client? If new and their efile went through last year, look at that prior return. 

abrownpa1979
Level 1

Yes this is a new client, however, it is my sister and brother in-law, so I know them well.  As I am just starting out, all but one client will be new this year.

I verified from the original SS cards and from last year's tax return, which is what has me stumped.  I checked for accidental spaces, random commas, other data entry errors; all to no avail. What makes it worse is that the error is on one of three dependents, it does not tell me which one. I even had the client review the 1040 and check the spelling and numbers just for a second set of eyes.  I do not understand why it would go through last year but not this year.

0 Cheers
Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15

I had one over 10 years ago, I could never get it to Efile, constant name/SSN mismatch, had to paper file, he was pissed...he never came back so I have no clue how it worked out for him the next year.

♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥Lisa♥¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪
0 Cheers
Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15

@abrownpa1979 wrote:

Yes this is a new client, however, it is my sister and brother in-law, so I know them well.  As I am just starting out, all but one client will be new this year.