Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Indiana Partnership's Non-residents IRA Partners Taxable?

Penumbrook
Level 2

2021 was the first year this Indiana Partnership had profits in Indiana from rental income. The partnership is a self-directed LLC with two non-resident partners that are Individual Retirement Accounts owned by a single individual. The commercial domicile is transferring from the state of residence of the IRAs' owner even though the IRAs are located in another state. Proconnect computes tax at the Indiana partnership level. I'm not an expert on Indiana tax law. But, I'm not even getting the benefit of suspended losses on prior year tax returns. Can someone point me to the Indiana Code Section that covers this type of circumstance?

0 Cheers
4 Comments 4
Penumbrook
Level 2

Maybe my first post wasn't clear. 2021 was the first year this Indiana Partnership had profits in Indiana. The partnership is a self-directed LLC with two non-resident partners that are Individual Retirement Accounts. Schedule K-1 Miscellaneous is marked "1" to indicate "Partner is a retirement plan" (override). Indiana Miscellaneous Information is marked "06=Nonprofit Entity" for the "Composite Exception Code." There should be no tax liability on Schedule Composite but Proconnect computes tax at the Indiana partnership level. Do I need more overrides to get the program working properly?

0 Cheers
qbteachmt
Level 15

Your first post was pretty thorough, actually. But this is a complex, and right now, no peer user has stopped in that can help with Indiana. If you want specifically to point out a Programming error, that would mean posting to Intuit, using the Idea Exchange perhaps:

https://proconnect.intuit.com/community/proconnect-tax-idea-exchange/idb-p/605