Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Foreign housing deduction for self employed

ktmcpa
Level 1

Mortgage interest and real estate property deduction

For a US citizen owns a house abroad.

Trying to take the housing deduction not exclusion. 

How to deduct. I am new to Proseries. Like it. 

Please help

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

8 Comments 8
itonewbie
Level 15

Foreign mortgage interest is to be taken on Sch A.  But you have more to consider than §911.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Still an AllStar
0 Cheers
ktmcpa
Level 1

Appreciate your response. 

I understand it should be on Sch A. Total housing expense is $31k. 

I will have to reduce this amount due to exclusion of foreign income. 

1/3 would be non excluded income, therefore itemized deductions would be 1/3 of $31k.

I would rather take standard deduction. 

Am I taking the right approach ? 

I appreciate your help.

0 Cheers
itonewbie
Level 15

Your understanding is not correct.  There's no foreign housing deduction for your client and the foreign mortgage interest should not be subject to reduction.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Still an AllStar
Taxing
Level 1

So no housing deduction for Sch C income, but itemize deduction can be taken on Sch A without reduction of the excluded foreign income. All of $31k can be taken as itemized deduction. Is that correct ?

The software took the QBI deduction. A foreign business is not allowed to take the QBI.

How do I stop the QBI deduction within the software ?

You are a very knowledgeable person and an asset to this community. 

0 Cheers
itonewbie
Level 15

Thanks for the kind words, @Taxing!