Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Married filing separate

JColeCares
Level 1

I have a client who wants their taxes done.  Married filing separate but absolutely no information for spouse.  Is that even possible?

0 Cheers
4 Comments 4
sjrcpa
Level 15

They must know the spouse's name.

Is this in a community property state?

Ex-AllStar
JColeCares
Level 1

Yes I am in California.  She does not want to disclose any information about her husband.  I explained the regulations of filing and they insisted they have filed like this before and had no problems.  However, I know now she is in fact married therefore I feel that I can not prepare her taxes knowing that she is not disclosing all information to me or the IRS.  For whatever reason I have no clue, but to my knowledge if you are married you must file with spouse information even if filing separate.  I've never heard of a work around for that.

0 Cheers
BobKamman
Level 15

Are they still living together?  If not, the community has ended.  If so, do they have an agreement to disregard community property law?  I'm not sure it has to be in writing, but a paragraph signed by both of them would probably work.  And then there is Code Section 66(b), which allows IRS to go after the spouse who is benefiting from non-disclosure, but it's better than nothing.  Following is from the Internal Revenue Manual.  I'm not one to turn away taxpayers who are trying their best to comply. 

IRC 66(b) - Denial of Community Property Benefits Where Spouse Not Notified
  1. IRC 66(b) provides an exception to the general rule that community income is taxed one-half to each spouse. IRC 66(b) authorizes the Service to disregard community property laws by denying the benefits of income splitting between the spouses. IRC 66(b) may be applied under the following conditions: