Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to Transfer files from ProSeries to Turbo Tax

Susana370
Level 3

Hello all,

Being a long term user of ProSeries, I decided this year to use TurboTax.

As a retired CPA, I need a simple program for me and my family.

I see instructions to convert from TurboTax to ProSeries, but not the other way around

Can ProSeries convert data files to TurboTax?

Thank you for your response as always

Susana

0 Cheers
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TaxGuyBill
Level 15

Transferring a PDF into TurboTax basically transfers name, address, and Social Security Number.  Not really anything else.

So essentially, you CAN'T transfer ProSeries into TurboTax.

View solution in original post

17 Comments 17
IntuitRebecca

Hi there,

ProSeries can't make the conversion. But if you're using a desktop version of TurboTax, when you install it, the program will scan your computer for tax files and ask if you want to use them to start your return. This process should identify ProSeries files automatically for you.

- Rebecca

0 Cheers
IRonMaN
Level 15

You certainly were able to get me confused --------- but I have to admit that I do get confused easily here.  So if you can't convert files, what exactly does "identifying files" really do for you.

Slava Ukraini!
IntuitRebecca

Sorry for the confusion, what I meant was the ProSeries program doesn't do anything in this process. The conversion is all handled by TurboTax. 

0 Cheers
TaxGuyBill
Level 15

@IntuitRebecca wrote:

The conversion is all handled by TurboTax. 

In the past, TurboTax could NOT use ProSeries files to convert to TurboTax.  You had to start from scratch.  Are you saying it now CAN use ProSeries files to convert to TurboTax?

0 Cheers
IntuitRebecca

Yes and no -

TurboTax still can't import a current year return from ProSeries so you can keep working on it.