Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Manage Users for Lacerte

Highlighted
Intuit

Manage Users for Lacerte

At Intuit, the security of our products remains one of our top priorities. We are committed to helping safeguard customer information. Since tax year 2016, industry-wide standards established through the IRS Security Summit require professional tax software vendors, including Intuit, to validate each individual user's identity.

Intuit is implementing these changes in the Lacerte software so that upon every program start or launch, all individual users associated with a firm must log in.

If you are the owner of the firm, manage your office, or are the only Lacerte user in your office, you must: complete the initial setup, and invite additional software users (if applicable).

If you have already completed the initial setup, we encourage you to verify your firm's login credentials.

This article will help you:

Every firm will need to designate one person in their firm to be the Primary Firm Administrator.  This person will be responsible for managing Lacerte software access for users within your firm.  If you are the only Lacerte software user in your firm, you will be the Primary Administrator.  The Primary Firm Administrator may provide administrator access to other users in your firm.  All users of the Lacerte software must have their own individual login. If you will serve as your office's Primary Firm Administrator, follow the steps below:

  1. Login to My Account
    • You may be prompted to verify your identity via multi-factor authentication (MFA). MFA will also prompt when accessing your account from an unrecognized device. For steps to verify your identity, click here.
    • After logging into My Account, under Helpful Resources on the right-hand side, select Manage Users.
  2. If you do not have an account, you must first create an account following the steps below (otherwise, continue to Step 3):
    1. Click on Create an Account.
    2. Follow the on-screen prompts.
  3. On the Manage User page, click Get Started.

    User-added image

    • Important!: By clicking Get Started, you acknowledge that you are the authorized administrator for your firm.
    • The Get Started button will not appear orange until the box is marked to indicate you are the Primary Administrator.
  1. Sign in to My Account.
  2. Once logged in, click Account > Manage Users on the left side.
  3. Select the drop-down arrow next to the user's name.
  4. Change the Software Access role through selections in the drop-down menu.
  1. Sign in to My Account.
  2. Once logged in, click Account > Manage Users.
  3. Click the down arrow next to the user's name.
  4. Click on the Delete User button.
  5. Click on Yes, Delete to confirm.
  6. From the Manage Users page, verify the deleted employee is not showing in the Manage Users table anymore.

You must either be the Primary Firm Administrator or be granted Admin Rights to invite other users. If you are the only Lacerte software user in your firm, you will not need to invite additional users.

  1. On the Manage Users screen, click Add Users/Manage Invitations:
    PCG
  2. Click on Invite User.
    PCG
  3. Enter the following information to complete the invitation:
    • First name
    • Last Name
    • E-Mail
    • Software Access (Role)
      • Admin - this role enables you to manage user access.
      • Employee - this role provides Lacerte program access only.
  4. Click Send invite.
  5. Verify the invitation was sent.  The invited Users will show as Pending.

If you are viewing Managed Users as an Admin and this action is not available, you may need to clear your browser cache.

  1. To re-invite a user make sure you are under the Invitations tab.
  2. Click the down arrow next to the Pending User and select Resend Invite.User-added image
  3. A new invitation will open with the User's information.
  4. Verify the User's information and click Send Invite.

If you are viewing Managed Users as an Admin and this action is not available, you may need to clear your browser cache.

  1. To cancel a pending invitation make sure you are under the Invitations tab.
  2. Click the down arrow next to the Pending User and select Cancel Invite.User-added image
  3. A confirmation screen will appear.User-added image
  1. Upon receipt of the invitation, click I accept.
  2. This email will be sent by your Firm Administrator from do_not_reply@intuit.com.User-added image
  3. If you have not already set up My Account, enter all applicable information in the Create your account screen.  If you already have an account, select Already have an account? Sign in. (You may be prompted to verify your identity via multi-factor authentication.)
  4. Upon completion of these steps, you may log in to Lacerte.
  1. Open your Lacerte software.
  2. Enter your Email/User ID and Password. (Typically the same as your My Account login)
  3. Click the Sign In button.

Once you have verified access to your Lacerte software, no additional action is required.

  1. Select Tools from the menu bar.
  2. Select Online Account.
  3. Select Manage Users.
  1. Login to My Account.
  2. On the right-hand side, under Helpful Resources, select Manage Users.
    1. If you need to determine who is the current master admin, it will be the user with the Software Access status of Admin (Master) on this screen.
  3. Click the Transfer Master Admin button.
  4. Using the drop-down menu, choose a current admin to transfer your master admin rights to.
  5. Click the Submit Transfer button.
    1. This will send an email to the admin selected, requesting that they accept or deny the request.
  6. Upon acceptance, you will receive an email indicating the successful transfer of your master admin rights.
  1. Login to accounts.intuit.com
  2. Under the Sign In & Security section and find Two-step verification.
  3. Click on Turn On.
  4. Choose your verification method and click the Turn On button.
  5. Confirm your choice:
    • For text message confirm your password and choose Turn on text message verification.
    • For voice call verification enter the code you receive from the automated phone call and choose Continue.

Turn Off follow the same steps except select Turn off on step 3.

Invite Users

  1. Click Import.
  2. Select Tax Import.
  3. Select Connected Services.
  4. Select Manage Users.  A pop up will appear showing current users.
  5. Click Invite New User in the top right corner.
  6. Enter the First Name, Last Name, and Email.
  7. Click Send Invite. A message will appear that the user has been sent an invite to Connected Services.
  8. Click OK to see the invitee in the list of users.

Manage Users

  1. Click Import.
  2. Select Tax Import.
  3. Select Connected Services.
  4. Select Manage Users. A pop up will appear showing current users.
  5. To delete, click the Remove hyperlink next to the user's name.
  6. A message will appear: Do you want to remove User Name?
  7. Click Yes.
  8. Return to the firm's users' screen to verify the name has been removed.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
Labels (1)