Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deleting client passwords

cargillcpa
Level 1
delete all client passwords
Labels (1)
0 Cheers
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
George4Tacks
Level 15

One at a time!!! 

Delete a Password Protected Client File in Lacerte

If you would like to delete a password protected return in Lacerte, you have to remove the password first.

Solution:

To Delete a Password Protected Client:
  1. Highlight the client you would like to delete.
  2. Go to the Client menu.
  3. In the Client menu, select Delete.
  4. After clicking Delete, you will be prompted to enter the password for the client.
  5. Enter the password for the client to proceed.
  6. You will next be asked to confirm client deletion.
  7. Click Yes or Yes to All to proceed.
  8. Client will now be deleted from the client list.
 
Note:  If you are unable to remember the password for the client, click here for information on how to remove a forgotten password.

ex-AllStar

View solution in original post

0 Cheers
2 Replies 2
George4Tacks
Level 15

One at a time!!! 

Delete a Password Protected Client File in Lacerte

If you would like to delete a password protected return in Lacerte, you have to remove the password first.

Solution:

To Delete a Password Protected Client:
  1. Highlight the client you would like to delete.
  2. Go to the Client menu.
  3. In the Client menu, select Delete.
  4. After clicking Delete, you will be prompted to enter the password for the client.
  5. Enter the password for the client to proceed.
  6. You will next be asked to confirm client deletion.
  7. Click Yes or Yes to All to proceed.
  8. Client will now be deleted from the client list.
 
Note:  If you are unable to remember the password for the client, click here for information on how to remove a forgotten password.

ex-AllStar

View solution in original post

0 Cheers
TaxGuyBill
Level 15
I think the OP want to delete the password itself, not the file.

I suspect that you would need to "Save As" to create a new file without a password, then delete the old file.  However, that could possible mess up things like REP.
0 Cheers