ProConnect HelpIntuit HelpIntuit

Restoring the automatic backup created during either conversion or update in EasyACCT

SOLVEDby IntuitEasyACCTUpdated 3 weeks ago

The first time a company is opened in a new release/update of the program, a message pops asking:

"Do you want to convert this company to the 20xx/20xy EasyACCT version?"

EasyACCT creates an automatic backup of the company when the company is opened after the software for the new year is installed, and after every update.

If the answer is No, then the company data file isn't accessible in the new program and will revert to occupying a place on the list of companies.

If the answer is Yes, then 2 things happen:

  1. An automatic backup is made by compressing the individual files ending in the 3 digit Company ID into a single file named EZACTxxx.CMP, and creates a backup folder to store it.
    • The backup folder created will be a sub folder of the Current Data Path and will be named according to the version of the program that is installed at the time of the backup.
      • If the company is converted in the Release 2021.1.01, then the backup will be stored in a backup sub folder named BCKUP21101.
      • If the company is converted in the Release 2021.1.02, then the backup will be stored in a backup sub folder named BCKUP21102.
      • If the company is converted in the Release 2021.1.03, then the backup will be stored in a backup sub folder named BCKUP21103.
      • If the company is converted in the Release 2021.2.01, then the backup will be stored in a backup sub folder named BCKUP21201.
  2. The program will ask if you want to convert the tax lines and pages to the current year's tax forms.

Follow these steps to restore an automatic backup file:

  1. Go to the Company Selection screen.
  2. Note the Current Data Path.
  3. Select Restore Company.
  4. In the Restore Company screen, change the Current Data Path to the one noted in step 1 followed by BCKUP#### and click Enter
    • Example: C:\EASYW\DATA\BCKUP21201
  5. Select the company you want to restore. Press Enter.
  6. Click Yes to restore and enter the destination path and click OK
  7.  Return to the Company Selection screen by selecting Go to > Company Selection.
 

The Destination Path defaults to the path where the company was originally stored.  Restoring to this path completely overwrites any copy of the company presently stored in that path. If a separate copy of the company is needed, enter a different destination folder and select Yes to create it.  

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
EasyACCT

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of Intuit Accountants users.