ProConnect HelpIntuit HelpIntuit

Common questions about your client list in Intuit Link

SOLVEDby IntuitLacerte Tax46Updated April 08, 2022

Below are answers to frequently asked questions about inviting clients and managing your client list in Intuit link.

Why is my client missing from the Intuit Link client list?

If a client can't be found in Intuit Link, first try searching for the client. The Search box lets you search by client's first name, last name, or email address.

If the client can't be found when searching for the first, last name, or email address, make sure the client isn't inactive.

  1. Go to the Gear icon on the top right hand corner.
  2. Click Manage Clients.
    • This will open the Manage Clients screen and defaults to show all active Intuit Link clients.
  3. Click the arrow next to Active Clients and select Inactive Clients to get a list of clients that have been made inactive in Link.
  4. Search for the client in question and click Mark as Active under the Actions column to reactivate them.
  5. Click Yes and mark as active on the confirmation window.
  6. Click Clients on the left navigation bar.
  7. Make sure the client is now showing in your Intuit Link client list.

This issue can also occur if the user(s) do not have access to the clients in Link. To resolve the issue, a user with the Admin role can login to the Link Accountant portal and give the user access to the clients.

  1. Go to the Gear icon on the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Click Manage Clients.
    • This will open the Manage Clients screen and defaults to show all active Intuit Link clients.
  3. Select the name of the user that's having the issue.
  4. Select Client Access.
  5. Mark the checkboxes next to the client(s) that the user needs access to.
    • Checking the box next to the Client header will auto-check all clients that are unchecked
  6. Click Save Changes once you're finished.
  7. Ask the user to sign in to their Link account to confirm they can see the client(s) in Intuit link.

Additional frequently asked questions

The client list is common to all tax years. If a client is invited in tax year 2017, the client will also appear in the tax year 2018 client list, and vice versa.

When sending an invite to a client, Intuit Link will display a warning message saying:

"The email is already in use with another client, sending this invitation will create a separate list of requests for your client. They will be able to access both lists and complete the list you've assigned."

Intuit Link has detected another client with the same email address as the client you're trying to invite. You may have sent an invite to the email from the software or invited the other client with the same email from Intuit Link. Invitations can only be sent once per client. You can search by email address in Intuit Link to confirm if there are duplicates.

The invitation will be sent to the email address specified. You can click Continue, and Intuit Link will display the standard warning message saying "The email is already in use with another client..." and send the invitation. When the taxpayer signs in, they'll be given a dropdown to select the correct account and share documents on their behalf.

Yes. To be certain you're sending or sharing documents pertinent to the tax year, make sure that you select the appropriate tax year from the dropdown in Intuit Link before sharing the documents and sending requests.

Yes, clients automatically transfer. You don't need to invite the client again from within the tax software.

Unless they already exist in Intuit Link, the best practice would be to invite the taxpayers from within the program. Duplicates will be created when clients are invited from both your tax software and Intuit Link.

There isn't an option to completely delete a client. However, you can Uninvite and deactivate the client, which will "hide" the client from the client list.

The client list may be sorted by the NameTY21 Progress, or Last Activity date/time columns.

To sort by any of these columns:

  1. Click the text within the column header.
    • You must click on the text itself, not the space surrounding the text.
  2. Click the header text again to reverse the sort order.
    • The header of the currently sorted column will contain a small triangle next to the header text pointing up or down to indicate whether it's currently sorted in ascending or descending order.
    • The order of the columns themselves may not be changed, nor may columns be added or removed.

Open the client. In the client, view click on Edit located under Actions, and then select Delete.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
Lacerte TaxProSeries BasicProSeries ProfessionalWorkflow Add-On Link

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of Intuit Accountants users.