When you delete an item in DMS it isn't permanently deleted from the database automatically. It's sent to the Deleted Items tab. From the Deleted Items you can permanently delete the item, view the item prosperities, or restore the item. This article will explain how to use the buttons available through the Deleted Items tab.
This button simply reloads the view to make sure all the deleted items are present. This is mainly used on network environments when other users of DMS may be deleting items as well.
When you click Restore Item, any files or folders that are selected will be moved back to their previous location in DMS.
When you click Delete Item, any files or folders that are selected will be permanently removed from DMS and the computer hard drive.
Using this button will permanently delete all items listed under the Deleted Items tab. This should be used with caution. If the Deleted Items contains a large amount of data this process can take quite a long time and you should not be using DMS on other computers while it runs.
If there are a lot of items here you may want to permanently remove smaller chunks of data by highlighting a few folders and use the Delete Item button instead. This will give you more control over the length of time the process takes.