ProConnect HelpIntuit HelpIntuit

Archive Files and Folder in DMS

SOLVEDby IntuitDocument Management System1Updated October 25, 2021

If you are noticing a significant speed issue when accessing DMS, try archiving older and unnecessary files. Archiving decreases database files and improves performance.

  • Specifically, a database Data01a.dat file above 50 megabytes slows software performance dramatically.
  • into folders in windows explorer in order to bring the database files down to a smaller size to improve performance.

The DMS archive feature will take DMS files, folders, and clients from the DMS database and post them wherever the user stipulates in the file space (i.e., the C: drive, a flash drive, et cetera).

DMS Archive Feature

Before you begin:

  • It is absolutely vital that you use a machine in your office that you will not need for at least a couple days and is on an uninterruptible power source. This is due to the length of time it takes to archive large amounts of files (sometimes many days). If you are uncomfortable with this, please contact your IT specialist for help.
  • You will want to make a copy of the database then move it to the computer you will be using, then make another copy of it at the computer you are using, just in case there is an interruption that will break the first try. DMS Database Backup to External Drive
  • Any information for the client in the Issues tab will not be archived or saved. Please print this information before archiving if it is still needed.
  1. Within DMS, click the File dropdown menu.
  2. Select Archive.

  1. Click Yes to initiate the Archive feature.

The Archive destination path will default C:DMSArchiveData.  This path can be changed but it cannot be saved directly to a CD-ROM.
Note: In DMS version 9.0, you may Archive by Folder or by Client.

The All Folder option shown in the image above will be removed in the Beta.

Once you've accessed the Archive feature in DMS....

Folders may be expanded/collapsed, as shown:

Archiving by folder will go through all clients and remove all folders and sub-folders/files within the folder, but everything else will be maintained/untouched.

Note: This feature allows you to remove old folders and files from DMS and then store them in your computer's file system.  To access your data after it has been archived, simply go to the Destination Path selected.

When archiving by client file, DMS makes the assumption that the client is no longer in use. All of the sub-folders/files will be archived, However, it will also remove the client file from the database.

After the Archiving is complete you can track what happened by printing it:

Related Topics

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
Lacerte TaxLacerte Tax PlannerProSeries BasicProSeries Fixed Asset ManagerProSeries ProfessionalWorkflow Add-On Document Management System

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of Intuit Accountants users.