ProConnect HelpIntuit HelpIntuit

How to merge duplicates after converting data in ProConnect Tax

SOLVEDby IntuitProConnect Tax3Updated October 15, 2021

ProConnect Tax has a powerful tool to help you merge any duplicate clients created by the data conversion process from your previous tax software. This article will help you merge clients after your data conversion is completed. If you haven't converted your data yet, refer to ProConnect Tax Online conversion information to get started.

Follow these steps to merge duplicate clients:

If you are a QBOA user and your clients are attached to any third-party app (BILL.com, eBility etc.), we don't recommend using the merge tool as this may affect the connection with the third-party app and your client.

Follow these steps to merge duplicate clients:

  1. Sign in to ProConnect Tax.
  2. Select Settings in the lower-left corner.
  3. Under Tools, select Convert Data.
  4. On your Data dashboard, you'll see a list of conversions you've submitted, and the status of each conversion.
  5. If the conversion status is Completed with duplicates found, select on View duplicates to continue.
  6. You'll see a list of converted clients that we suspect may be duplicates.
  7. Select Review on any client to view details.
  8. A Resolve duplicate clients window will appear, where you can compare the client data that was converted to the data already in your client list.
    • To the left you'll see the data converted from another program.
    • To the right, you'll see an existing client that we think may be a duplicate.
    • If multiple clients with matching information are found, select Select a client to view a list.
  9. Compare the client information. If the client isn't a duplicate, select Save as new client.
    1. Make the information on the screen is correct.
    2. Select Confirm to create the new client.
  10. If the clients are duplicates, select Preview merge clients to continue.
    1. Use the radio buttons to select which client information you'd like to keep.
    2. Select the Next button to the lower right of your screen.
    3. Make sure the client information is correct as it appears here.
    4. Select Confirm to merge the clients.
  11. Repeat steps for any clients listed as suspected duplicates.
  12. Select Done to return to your Tax Returns list.

Related topics

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
ProConnect Tax

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of Intuit Accountants users.