ProConnect HelpIntuit HelpIntuit

Setting Trustee Rights to grant or revoke user access to program features in Lacerte

SOLVEDby IntuitLacerte Tax6Updated October 18, 2021

This article explains how to set Trustee Rights in Lacerte to grant or revoke a user's access to a specific program feature.

Trustee Rights, available in the program settings, permit a user's access to specific program features but don't grant overall program access.

  • The Trustee Rights tab is only available if you have a network license.

How to view and configure Trustee rights

  1. Go to Settings menu and select Primary Options.
  2. Click on the Trustee Rights tab.
  3. Compare trustee Rights, on the right, to your current settings, and make any desired changes.
FeatureWhen enabled, allows the user to...
Program AccessStart each of the nine Lacerte Tax program modules: Individual, Partnership, Corporation, S-Corporation, Fiduciary, Estate, Gift, Benefit Plan, and Exempt Organization. If this option isn't enabled, the user can't start the Lacerte Tax program(s).
Add/Adjust ClientsAdd, adjust, and print client information and client details. Also controls the ability to bridge clients between the Corporation and S-Corporation programs.
Client MaintenanceBackup, restore, delete, rename, and copy within any client file.
Adjust Client StatusChange the status information for any client file.
Process/Print ReturnsProcess tax returns from the Print menu or through the Forms tab process feature within the data entry screen.
Print Reports/LabelsPrint status reports, mailing labels, summary reports, custom reports, and client lists.
Adjust User OptionsAdjust Option settings.
E-FilingSend and receive tax returns through the Lacerte e-filing program.
Remote Entry ProcessingSend and receive tax returns through Lacerte Remote Entry Processing (REP).
Invoice SetupSet up and adjust the Invoice feature of the program.
Proforma/OrganizerProcess tax clients through the Proforma/Organizer program.
Client Password ProtectionAssign passwords to clients in the Client list.
Lock/Unlock ReturnLock or unlock a return to protect it from accidental changes after completion.
Lacerte UpdatesCheck for updates with Lacerte. If the user doesn't have rights to Lacerte Updates, he or she can't download, delete, or install updates.

The Clear Client Log permits the user to clear a client log when f4 is entered while a client file is open.

How to grant or revoke rights to a user

  1. On the Settings menu, click Primary Options.
  2. Click the Trustee Rights tab.
  3. Click the user's name in the User Name list.
    • The user ID won't appear under the User Name list until the specific user has opened and accessed the tax module within Lacerte.
  4. In the Rights list, clear a checkbox to revoke a right, or select an empty checkbox to grant a right.
  5. Click OK to save the changes.
  6. In the confirmation dialog, click Current Changes Only, and then click Yes.

    

To delete a network user from Trustee Rights

  1. On the Settings menu, click Primary Options.
  2. Click the Trustee Rights tab.
  3. Select the name from the User Name list.
  4. Click the Delete User button.
    • To delete a user from the current program's Trustee Rights User Name list, click Yes to Current Program.
    • To delete a user from the Trustee Rights User Name lists in all installed tax programs, click Yes to All Programs .
  5. Click OK to save the changes.
  6. In the confirmation window, click Current Changes Only, and then click Yes.

For more information on Lacerte setup options

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
Lacerte Tax

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of Intuit Accountants users.