Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IRS Update January 13 on Return Processing, Check Cashing

BobKamman
Level 15

Mostly the same blah blah blah.  Important numbers:  Still nearly 7 million 2020 returns not processed.  How many people will be working on these, once 2021 returns start arriving?  Allow 60 days for your check to be cashed, don't stop payment on it.  This is your government's money that belongs in your government's bank account.

As of November 24, the backlog was 7.1 million individual returns.  The number has decreased by 0.2 million.  I'm not very good at math -- could someone tell us, at this rate, how long it will take to clear the backlog? 

The IRS is now opening mail within normal timeframes. The IRS has also made significant progress in processing returns. As of December 25, 2020, we had 6.9 million individual tax returns in the processing pipeline. For refunds that could not be issued in 2020 because the tax return is being corrected, reviewed or awaiting correspondence from a taxpayer, the refund will be issued as a paper check in 2021 per our normal processes. Taxpayers are encouraged to continue to check Where’s My Refund for their personalized [monogrammed, maybe?] refund status.