Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Filing Status

Tim-1963
Level 1

I have a new CPA practice, (I have been auditing and accounting governmental and NFP for nearly 30 yrs), however I am now learning taxes and private industry. I also do CAS. I learned since I decided to prepare tax returns in 2020 that one of my client's in the construction industry who I do CAS for his business, that he filed as Head of Household for the last few years. However, he is and was married while he filed as Head of Household. 

My question is should I recommend he go back and amend this? I will not prepare his tax of course unless he agrees to comply. 

Thank you

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. New comments cannot be posted on this discussion anymore. Start a new discussion

7 Comments 7
BobKamman
Level 15

You can tell him his returns were not correct and advise him that they are still open to IRS audit.  If he asks how likely it is that IRS will discover the mistake, you can point out the percentage of returns that IRS audits in his income range.  If he wants to know the difference between self-reporting and waiting for a possible audit, you can explain the 20% negligence penalty.  As far as recommending an action, isn't that more of a moral choice than professional advice?  Of course, for future returns you want to bring him back into compliance.

Married men who cheat on their taxes are more likely to cheat on their wives, also.  The dilemma might resolve itself when his future ex-wife turns him in.

abctax55
Level 15

My question is should I recommend he go back and amend this?

Yes - and as Bob points out, tell him what the consequences might be if he doesn't.

I will not prepare his tax of course unless he agrees to comply.