Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Considering ProSeries or Drake software from Lacerte

mscpa30
Level 2

I am considering changing tax software from Lacerte.  I've used it for 20+ years, but I am a firm of one CPA with 2 support staff and Lacerte is just too expensive.  Constant price increases.  I've looked at Drake and Pro Series.  Any advice?  Thank you!

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. New comments cannot be posted on this discussion anymore. Start a new discussion

24 Comments 24
rbynaker
Level 13

It's too late to change now so contact a bunch of other software providers after tax season.  Most will give you a free demo copy of the software (or sometimes free full copy but without efile privileges) to evaluate.  See what meets your needs.  It's really going to depend on the types of forms you need most often for your clients.  If you do a lot of farm returns, for example, you might shy away from ProSeries who won't be ready to file them this year until 2/25 (even though they're due 3/1).

sjrcpa
Level 15

Drake is about to be (or has been) acquired by a Venture Capital firm, so I would consider there will be price increases and decline in customer service.

Ex-AllStar
mscpa30
Level 2

Thank you for the info!!

0 Cheers
mscpa30
Level 2

Thank you for the info!

abctax55
Level 15

If (when?) I change software, I would move away from anything/everything Intuit related. 

ProSeries is an Intuit product (yes, much cheaper than Lacerte) but Intuit's attention to programming, customer service, etc has declined so drastically over the last few years that it is difficult to recommend it.   

"*******Tax software is no substitute for a professional tax preparer*******
( Generic Comment )"
bobbyeyes
Level 3

Myself and others are changing after this season...Constant price increases and bad customer support..