Learn how to consolidate duplicate clients in ProConnect Tax and QuickBooks Online Accountant Client list.
Have you noticed the same clients are listed in your Client List, under Your Practice, and your Customer List, under Your Books? This is normal because by default these lists are synchronized. Any client you create in one is automatically added to the other.
However, it's possible that you've ended up with duplicate entries in the Client list. This usually happens when you add a client to both the Client List and the Customer List. In this article, we'll show you how to use the Merge Client Utility to help you combine duplicate clients.
Before you start:
Duplicate clients listed in your Client list can be combined into a single entry by using the Merge Duplicate Clients utility.
With the Merge Duplicate Clients utility:
- You choose the company details to keep for each matched pair of clients
- Transactions and notes (recorded under Your Books) for both client entries are kept
- Team access permissions to the QuickBooks Online subscription are retained
Only the Master Admin and firm users with Full Access can perform a consolidation. Other users will not see the option.
To consolidate duplicate clients:
- Choose QB Accountant on the left side of the screen.
- Select Settings ⚙️.
- Under Tools, select Merge Duplicate Clients.
- On the Merge Duplicate Clients page, select Get started.
- On the Select Duplicates page, select the checkbox for each QuickBooks Online client to be merged.
- For each selected client, select the name of the client to merge with from the Matched Client Name drop-down list. You must select a matched client for each Target client you selected.
- Select the Select client contact info button.
- For each match, use the drop-down lists on the Select client contact info screen to specify the client contact data (for example, Company name, Display name, Email, or Mobile) to keep when the clients are merged.
- Select the Verify changes button when you have specified all of the data to keep.
- On the Verify changes screen, review the information to be merged, and select Merge clients.
- Select Done.
- What if I use Intuit Link and I need to merge a client that has documents attached?
- If you use Intuit Link and a client that you are attempting to merge has documents attached, please download all documents prior to using the merge tool.
- If the clients that I am attempting to merge both have tax returns, will they be merged?
- Yes, both tax returns will be attached once the clients have been merged.
- I merged two clients in error but need to separate them. Can I do this?
- No. Please double-check for accuracy before merging two clients.
- I used Intuit Link but did not download the associated files prior to merging clients. Can I access these documents?
- Please contact a member of support for assistance.
- I also use QBOA. Can I use the merge tool for QBOA and PTO clients.
- Yes. You may merge both QBOA and PTO clients with the merge tool.
- I have a QBOA client and a PTO client. My QBOA client has a QBO company and documents attached. I want to merge these clients. What happens to the QBO company and documents?
- Your access to the client's QBO file will remain.
- I have a QBOA client and a PTO client. My PTO client has Link attached. I want to merge these clients. I know that the documents will not merge. What happens when I send a new invitation to the same e-mail address?
- Your client will be able to accept the invitation but will not see historic data.
- I have two PTO clients. I need to merge these two clients. Am I able to?
If the target client was originated and the matched client originated in PTO or reversed, they can be merged.Can we merge individual and business clients?
- If I merge an individual and business client, is the SSN or EIN kept?
- If the target client is a business client then the EIN will be kept. If the target client is an individual client, then the SSN will be kept.