Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tax preparer low scale - acts as a sole proprietorship

shachar183
Level 3

Hey,
I'm new to tax return preparation after 8 years at the one of the big4 assurance departments. I want to start doing tax returns for friends and relatives for moneys (very limited). As of now I have 4 potential client in 2020. I want to start as sole proprietorship. I registered and received a PTIN. I have read that I don't need a EFIN as long as I don't exceed the 11 tax return threshold a year (in 2020). I file tax return for foreigners (federal tax returns only - no state). 

My question is - 
what should I place as Firm's name and EIN? leave it blank? I'm not associated in any sort of a business (act as a sole proprietorship). 

Thank you,

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

7 Comments 7
IRonMaN
Level 15

But you do need an EFIN if you plan on e-filing any of those 4 returns.

Slava Ukraini!
shachar183
Level 3

Hello,

Thanks for the comment.
According to the Publication 3112:
'Most Tax Return Preparers Must Use IRS e-file
Any tax return preparer who anticipates preparing and filing 11 or more Forms 1040 and/or 1041 during a calendar year generally must use IRS e-file.

I do not anticipate preparing and filing 11 1040 forms.

0 Cheers
IRonMaN
Level 15

That's fine as long as you are planning on paper filing the up to ten returns that you prepare.  If you have a desire to e-file even one of them, you will need an EFIN.

Slava Ukraini!
shachar183
Level 3

Thank you. I have no such desire - although it is not super convenient I will do all paper filling. For 2020 I will register for EFIN.

And as for my question - what do I fill out under the firm's name and EIN on my client's 1040? leave it blank?

Thanks, 

0 Cheers
qbteachmt
Level 15