Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Domestic Partnerships and HSA's

Sherryb75
Level 1

First off, I want to say this is my first year with these clients.  I have one client, who after I filed his return and he got an IRS notice about his HSA, tells me he is in a domestic partnership.  He list his partner with his work for his HSA so he can contribute the max amount.  He contributed 7100 last year and is being taxed on the overage.  He is stating and I confirmed that he has never been taxed before on it.  I have looked thru previous returns and he has never paid for it.  The previous accountant passed away unexpectedly so I can not ask her and the other CPA's I have talked to has never heard of this.  She used a different software so I have no clue if she overrode a number because it doesn't match up.  Has anyone encountered domestic partnerships and HSA's?  Am I missing something in Proseries on domestic partnerships?

0 Cheers
17 Comments 17
Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15
They probably marked that he had a Family plan on the 8889, not Self, which raised his contribution cap.

Whether this is correct or not, Im not sure....I dont have any domestic partnership clients.

♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥Lisa♥¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪
0 Cheers
qbteachmt
Level 15

"He contributed 7100 last year and is being taxed on the overage."

To one account, or to two? My understanding is that this would be split into each of two individual accounts, because they are not married and are not supposed to pay for the "other" individual out of your Taxpayer's HSA account. HSA is an individually-owned account; even if both are covered under the same high deductible insurance plan as registered domestic partners, that qualifies them each for having their own account, and the family total would be split across the two accounts.

Try this: