Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't efile first year 1120S due to error re form that isn't required

DianaS
Level 3

First year form 1120S  No depreciation, no interest.  Only deductions are rent and utilities.  The error message is "Not eligible to efile.   Form 8866 is required because tax on line 22c of Form 1120S.  There is nothing there!  I have been through every line and every checkbox on this return and can't make this error go away.  Been using Proseries since 1986, preparing hundreds of 1120S over the years so I am not a newbie.  Any suggestions other than delete client and start over?IMG_8179.JPG

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

10 Comments 10
DianaS
Level 3

FYI Apparently if you attach a PDF to a Sub S return, you get that message if you have previously efiled an extension.    I unclicked the extension efile box from when I had efiled for the extension, saved, closed the file, reopened and I was able to efile.   Way too many negative issues this year with ProSeries.

Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15

@DianaS wrote:

First year form 1120S  No depreciation, no interest.  Only deductions are rent and utilities.  The error message is "Not eligible to efile.   Form 8866 is required because tax on line 22c of Form 1120S.  There is nothing there!  I have been through every line and every checkbox on this return and can't make this error go away.  Been using TurboTax since 1986, preparing hundreds of 1120S over the years so I am not a newbie.  Any suggestions other than delete client and start over?