Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I realized i've been using the wrong depreciation basis on my rental property?

dkuko
Level 1
I’ve used those government assessed 

small tax cards that arrived in my mail to determine my basis. To make things simple they said the land was worth 100,000 and the building was worth 70,000. So I’ve been depreciating 70,000 as the basis for a few years now.

I just found out I could’ve used the original purchase price of the unit? let’s say that was $200,000. 

So I’m confused.. what’s my depreciation basis? 

Is it 200,000 aka my original purchase price?

or is it 200,000 minus the land 100,000 = 100,000?

Or what the tax card said = 70,000? 

I’ve been using 70,000, but if it’s wrong, do I need to amend the last 3 years or can I just fix it going forward in my current tax year? I am so overwhelmed.. have i committed a massive blunder by understating my depreciation basis?
0 Cheers
14 Comments 14
jeffmcpa2010
Level 11

You will need to file a 3115 to make your correction.

https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-3115

File this form to request a change in either:

• an overall method of accounting or
  • the accounting treatment of any item.

You are requesting to change the accounting treatment of your rental property.

Your post sounds like you may be doing this for yourself.

Whether or not it is for your personal return, I would not try to complete the 3115 myself.  I would find a tax professional experienced in this form to complete it for you and help you through the process, It is complex and you don't want to screw it up.

0 Cheers
Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15
you still need to break out the land portion of the property, that doesnt get depreciated.

Look at your actual property tax bill, whats the land to dwelling ratio of the total property value?

♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥Lisa♥¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪
0 Cheers
dkuko
Level 1