Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does ProSeries not auto-save anymore?

wrightlj
Level 3

I entered a good bit of information on a 1065 return last night, took a break, dozed off, and this morning it's all gone. I've been using ProSeries for more than 20 years and they have always offered a recoverable file in the past.  Is there a preference that I should have checked somewhere when I installed?  

Signed,

Discouraged in Raleigh

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

14 Comments 14
Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15

Its in the Options somewhere...Ive got mine set for 1 minute....let me look where that is..........

TOOLS >OPTIONS>GENERAL   right in the center of the window

♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥Lisa♥¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪
Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15
Did you exit without saving or did the program crash? If it was still open on the screen but empty of all data, thats pretty weird.

0 Cheers
wrightlj
Level 3

It appears that the machine rebooted overnight as ProSeries wasn't open any longer - some Windows update no doubt.  I've never had this happen in all my years.  Never had to set it up, it just happened.  Apparently, it never saved anything at all.  I realize I'm responsible for saving my own work, but I never had to do it before and ALWAYS had the option of recovery.  

Thanks

0 Cheers
wrightlj
Level 3

I have it set to "Save to Automatic recovery file every ...."  10 minutes.

I have a call in to Tech Support.  

Now I don't trust it.

Grrrrr

Thank you

0 Cheers
Just-Lisa-Now-
Level 15
Level 15

Yes, Windows updated on both my systems yesterday, sounds like that was the culprit. 

I always set my autosave for 1 minute, not sure what the default is, so far any crashes Ive had a recovery file available.