Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SIMPLE IRA Contribution Disallowed. Why?

jaygar
Level 3

I'm finishing up a 1040 and see the "suggestion" that the client's $6750 SIMPLE contribution was disallowed due to "lack of self-employment income". I'm new to doing tax returns and my research of the SIMPLE plans is that it doesn't require SE income. Is that correct?

Plus, the client does have SOME SE income, but only $4811 from a K1. 

So, is there a something I can do to allow him to deduct this contribution?

TIA!

0 Cheers
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
qbteachmt
Level 15

"The W2 from the company where the SE income was generated"

To clarify, then: You have a both an employer relationship (not SE) and a K-1 as Shareholder (partner) (SE).

"shows $4500.08 in Box 12"

Is that Coded S? That would be Payroll Deduction, then. Where is $6,750 coming from? Did you read the link I provided? Do you know if they adopted a standard "they have to earn $5,000" plan?

"and in Box 14 $1218 "Other""

There is no standard for Box 14; it's informational and there should be a short notation, such as Family Sick Leave.

"and $29522.27 "SCorpH". "