Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SEP IRA Question

CUSO
Level 3

Hello, I have a client amending his 1120-S because he forgot to account for a SEP IRA contribution that he made during the year.  On ProConnect, do I enter the SEP IRA contribution on the 1120 S under: Ordinary Income -> Deductions -> Pensions, profit-sharing plans?

Do I also need to account for this in any other locations for his individual tax return?

Thank you!

0 Cheers
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
IRonMaN
Level 15

Nope

Slava Ukraini!

View solution in original post

18 Comments 18
sjrcpa
Level 15

1. Yes

2. No

Ex-AllStar
joshuabarksatlcs
Level 10

@sjrcpa I'm still learning.

But let me put a 5-paragraph asterisk  on 

2.  No.

SEP IRA would imply wages were paid.

Therefore, a W-2 was (or W-2's were) issued to the employee(s).

On the W-2(s), was the "Retirement Plan" box checked?

If NOT, it'd be an error.

If the error(s) existed, did the employee(s) make IRA contribution(s)?

If the employee(s) did, did it go beyond the income limitation?

** Answer asterisked in case Bob was behind the (trick) question.  

I come here for kudos and IRonMaN's jokes.
sjrcpa
Level 15

Good points @joshuabarksatlcs 

Ex-AllStar
CUSO
Level 3

Ok so your comments perhaps changes a few things things.  The owner of the S-Corp is also the only employee and he did not set up any payroll (though he should have).  With that said, can he still take the deduction for the SEP IRA contribution?

0 Cheers
IRonMaN
Level 15

Nope

Slava Ukraini!
Accountant-Man
Level 13

No S corp wages for the employee/owner, no SEP-IRA.

** I'm still a champion... of the world! Even without The Lounge.
PATAX
Level 15