Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EFIN

TedG
Level 1

I'm just learning about the ProConnect product with my QBOA .  I wasn't planning on doing taxes for any clients other than for my own business return and personal returns.  Is there any downside to signing up for an EFIN? 

Would it make more sense to continue to use two turbo tax subscriptions instead of ProConnect?

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

9 Comments 9
itonewbie
Level 15

EFIN is required only if you are going to be e-filing returns.  And you will need a PTIN also if you are going to be a paid preparer.  To be issued either or both of these numbers, you will be subject to certain rules and have various responsibilities.  The process for being issued an EFIN is particularly onerous for good reasons - if you have no need for it, there is no reason for you to apply.

TurboTax is a personal tax product.  Its license does not permit its use by paid preparers.  If you are a paid preparer, you will need to subscribe to one of Intuit's tax products for tax professionals (i.e. Lacerte, ProSeries, or ProConnect) or one of the professional tax products from other competitors.  It goes without saying, then, you will also need a PTIN (and an EFIN, if you are required to e-file).

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Still an AllStar
itonewbie
Level 15

If you are doing only your own returns, you should stick with TurboTax.  If you use ProConnect Tax, you won't be able to efile without an EFIN.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Still an AllStar
abctax55
Level 15

1) Turbo Tax is likely cheaper.  Intuit has their lovely Fast Path add-on fee.