Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Medical Expenses

msudtelgte
Level 1

I'm an accounting student, and we are using ProConnect for our Income Tax Final.  My classmates and I are struggling a great deal with input.  I'm having an issue with the medical of Schedule A.

The imaginary scenario is:  premiums are paid by employer, $700 a month.  This is in box 12a of the W2 as DD $8,400.  Also, there was a surgery expense of $10,100 that was paid out-of-pocket but reimbursed.

I know I need to enter that $10,100 but I don't know WHERE.  Can anyone help...? 

I have a ton of input questions, but this is the one I've spent the most time trying to correct

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

5 Comments 5
George4Tacks
Level 15

I suggest you and your classmates refer to Schedule A instructions. https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1040sca.pdf

Where do you think you should enter the $8.,400?

If it were not reimbursed where do you think you should enter the $10,100?

Once you have answered those two problems, look for input in that same are for "reimbursement".

All of your questions are really related to tax issues, as all the medical deductions are in the same fairly small area of the program. You can find input by using "check return" and looking at the form involved. Click on the line you want to make an entry for and it will jump to the input (generally.)

Here's wishing you many Happy Returns
qbteachmt
Level 15

Just a comment here: "premiums are paid by employer, $700 a month. This is in box 12a of the W2 as DD $8,400."