Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
uservwscpa
Level 1
I am new to ProConnect and need to prepare a 2018 and 2019 return for a client.  How do I access the input for these years?  All I see is 2020 input.
0 Cheers
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
itonewbie
Level 15

Since you are new to ProConnect, I presume you haven't created any returns for the client.  Here're the steps you should take:

1. Add client:
    1. Click on Clients on the left panel;
    2. Click on the Add client button in the top-right corner of the Clients dashboard; and
    3. Enter all the basic particulars for your client in the pop-up.  Note that data entered here will flow to the new return you create but this is a ONE-TIME event and the data entered here will remain static (i.e. not changed by entries you make on your client's returns) until you update these details with the Edit client function;
  2. Create a new tax return:
    1. On the line create for your new client on the same Clients dashboard, click on the dropdown on the far right under ACTIONS, and select Create a new tax return;
    2. On the next screen, choose the return Type, select 2018 for Tax Year, and edit the Tax return name as you see fit.  When you are working on multi-year returns, you should always create the earliest year only as you can then rollover the finalized return to the follow year;
    3. Hit the Save button in the bottom-right corner when done.
  3. Prepare the 2018 return:
    1. Click on Tax Returns on the left panel to open the Tax Returns dashboard;
    2. On the top of the dashboard (right next to the left panel), you will see Tax Returns 2020.  Click on 2020 or the small triangle next to it and select 2018;