Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CA Registered Domestic Partner Return

clacourte1
Level 3

I have a client who became registered domestic partners with her boyfriend in 2022 in California. I know she needs to file as single for federal purposes and jointly for CA purposes. Can anyone tell me the steps to take in ProConnect to do this? Do I need to create two different returns--one for her federal single filing and one for her CA MFJ/RDP filing? And my understanding is that I need to prepare an 8958 for community property allocation, but then is that filed with the federal return? This is my first time preparing an RDP so I'm not sure how to go about it. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

0 Cheers
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
George4Tacks
Level 15

I guess you are back in the same arena as you would be when you file MFS in a community property state. If everyone plays nice and share information, then you can get a good clean return. If they don't play nice - WING IT!

Here's wishing you many Happy Returns

View solution in original post

8 Comments 8
George4Tacks
Level 15

Prepare a joint return as a start, then split this for the two federal returns. 

https://proconnect.intuit.com/support/en-us/help-article/tax-filing-status/generate-married-filing-j...

clacourte1
Level 3

Ok, great--that's helpful. Thank you!

0 Cheers
clacourte1
Level 3

So after speaking more with my client, she's decided that she wants to file her CA return as RDP filing separately. Her partner will be preparing his own return. So any guidance on the procedure for this scenario?

Thank you!!

0 Cheers
George4Tacks
Level 15

I guess you are back in the same arena as you would be when you file MFS in a community property state. If everyone plays nice and share information, then you can get a good clean return. If they don't play nice - WING IT!

clacourte1
Level 3