Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Professional Liability Insurance?

Oakland Richard
Level 1

I'm opening my own tax prep business working from home. I am an Enrolled Agent. Any good resources for insurance needs for this scenario. I plan to do primarily virtual 1040 returns with minimal client direct contact. I've started some inquiries into low cost professional liability insurance but could use some good resources.

Thank you!

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

4 Comments 4
Skylane
Level 11
Level 11

Richard, this isn’t really the right forum for insurance advise. You’ll find a lot of professional liability policies and  products available on the internet but i wouldn’t be in a hurry to seek out the lowest cost... you generally get what you pay for and for  someone just starting out the premiums will be low anyway.

Rather than trying to do it yourself (like they do with TurboTax)  start by calling an independent agent in your area. They’ll better understand what’s available and help give you some guidance based on your circumstance, now and in the future.

Some of the companies may also offer CGL. It’s pretty cheap and will provide premises liability if you’re homeowners policy doesn’t pick up the business at home exposure.

PL policies are different than most others and are written on a claims-made basis. You should have an agent explain how it works. 

if you have specific questions you can post on this thread and I’ll try to help. 

If at first you don’t succeed…..find a workaround
itonewbie
Level 15