Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where do I enter taxable accrued treasury interest paid from Form 1099-int?

Trout Season
Level 1

Hey everyone, it's my first year with Lacerte and I'm having a little trouble with where I'm supposed to enter the taxable accrued Treasury interest paid on form 1099-Int (part of the brokerage statement) that shows up in the section that says "the following amounts aren't reported to the IRS..." 

My understanding is that I need to reduce the amount of interest reported in box 1 of 1099-int by the "taxable interest paid" listed on Form 1099-Int. I was able to find that easily enough in Lacerte on screen 11 under the heading Adjustments to Federal Taxable Income in the second box "accrued interest" and it shows up on Schedule B reducing interest income just like it should with no adjustments to the state return. I'm happy at this point. 

Here's where the fun begins. For this example, Form 1099-Int has 17,000 in box 3 (for treasury bonds) so on the state return (SC) there's a subtraction from federal taxable income for 17,000 on page 2 of SC1040 to arrive at state taxable income which makes perfect sense to me since treasury bond interest is nontaxable to the state. I'm still happy! 

The next line on form 1099-Int in the section "the following amounts aren't reported to the IRS..." is  "taxable accrued Treasury interest paid" for 2500 (made up number). I don't see where I'm supposed to enter this on screen 11? I want this adjustment to reduce the interest on Schedule B to 14,500, but since it's treasury interest, and is nontaxable to the state, the adjustment for "taxable accrued Treasury interest paid" should be 14,500.