Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Itemized deductions - entry of real estate taxes

Anonymous
Not applicable

I am new to Lacerte and amending 2018 because of exceeding the $10,000 SALT limitation. My client owned 4 residences during 2018 (not held for investment, just personal residences). Within the Itemized Deductions screen I originally entered, as instructed, the real estate tax paid on his principal residence in the Real Estate Tax section in the box labeled "Principal residence [A] (Cntrl + E)". Since there was no line for real estate taxes on other residences I originally placed them under the Other Taxes section. I now realize that this was a mistake because the program correctly does not assume that taxes in this section are subject to the SALT limitation, and hence deducted in full the taxes I entered for the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th residences.  Now that I am amending, where do I enter the real estate taxes for other than the principal residence? Is the label for this box a misnomer? Do I enter the real estate taxes for all 4 residences in this box and ignore Lacerte's labeling of it as if reserved for only the "principal" residence?

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
George4Tacks
Level 15

The hint is contained in "Principal residence [A] (Ctrl + E)" Use Ctrl + E and a grid will open up where you can enter any number of Residential Property taxes 

New York           2,354

Syracuse                736

Adirondack       1,716

Pokipsky             8.719

AND it will total them for you!

Here's wishing you many Happy Returns

View solution in original post

6 Comments 6
George4Tacks
Level 15