Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Justify/Understand REP Fees

msindc1
Level 4

Folks:

I am an attorney who prepares a small number of returns for clients, for trusts that I administer, for gift taxes, and so on.  I spend a great deal of money on the program plus REP fees each year.  My fees are reasonable--neither much higher nor much lower than other tax preparers charge.  But REP fees along generally consume between 15 and 30% of the total fee that I charge.

I imagine that the metrics work for folks who do a ton of returns, but I'm just wondering how folks think about these fees in the context of the smaller preparer.  When REP fees of $90 or $150 for a single client exceed the cost of buying an off-the-shelf software program, I am having trouble wrapping my mind around why it costs what it does and whether I am doing something wrong!

M.

14 Comments 14
George4Tacks
Level 15

Charge and hourly rate and add an "administrative" or "software" fee to cover the REP Fee. 

If you go to court, do you charge for filing fees?

If the fees are more than "off the shelf" software, why don't you switch? [I think I know the answer, but I had to ask.]

Here's wishing you many Happy Returns
msindc1
Level 4

George:

My question wasn't meant just to be whining.  I am genuinely curious about how people think about the fees.  For example, what answer would YOU give to why you don't use off the shelf software?

As for going to court, not all courts charge filing fees but when a court charges a $40 fee to file a motion that would have cost the client $500 or $5,000 to draft, the "drag" that the filing fee imposes is modest.

Micah

George4Tacks
Level 15