Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Database Maintenance

pitstax
Level 3

I am a hundred years user of Lacerte and over those years EVERY employer and banks/brokers are passed along from year to year.  I have 700 clients and my database, even after period cleanup has over 2,000 entries.  Every couple of years I try to clean them up because many are duplicates or typos etc. that are retained.

I would LOVE to be able to run some sort of database report that would give me the active employers and banks/brokers so I can go in and get rid of the rest.  (I'm pretty sure that Enron won't be paying any more dividends any time soon...)  I've asked on several occasions but no one at Lacerte seems to care.

BTW, this is all refers to the Table Editor function.

I've got some programming background and I've tried to parse Lacerte data but it's just too buried for me to be able to read their files without a lot of effort which I don't have during tax season.  Anyone have any suggestions about how to see the active datapoints?

0 Cheers
6 Comments 6
George4Tacks
Level 15

I have only used Lacerte for 98 years, but my routine is to go into the table editor occasionally to (a) delete incomplete entries, i.e. no ein, address etc or (b) Delete or correct those with misspelling. It is a tedious process and I only use my 130 years of life experience to do logically culling of the table. 

Here's wishing you many Happy Returns
pitstax
Level 3

Unfortunately that manual process is what I go through as well.  Hoping for a better solution or, at a minimum, a way to identify the active employers/banks/brokers proforma'd into the current year.