Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does anyone currently use a disaster recovery as a service / continuity provider. Ie datto

DHipple
Level 2

I am in the process of upgrading servers and workstations for a small 2 person office to be compatible with proseries and lacerte. As part of the package my it provider is trying to lock me into a 3 year contract with Datto to provide DRaaS. Since I have no experience in this, I am looking for information from someone impartial who does.

0 Cheers

This discussion has been locked. No new contributions can be made. You may start a new discussion here

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
qbteachmt
Level 15

3 years = two generations, from the perspective of computers. I would never sign up for something that long. 18 months is considered a generation cycle; things change fast. Only you can decide what is at risk, how much of it you want to manage yourselves, and what the service provider offers that is of value to you, of  course.

I keep multiple computers available, so if something happens, I can switch to another. I do a triple storage routine for safekeeping my working files: mirrored to two computers, saved to a usb device and also copied to the cloud.

"Level Up" is a gaming function, not a real life function.

View solution in original post

0 Cheers
4 Comments 4
qbteachmt
Level 15

3 years = two generations, from the perspective of computers. I would never sign up for something that long. 18 months is considered a generation cycle; things change fast. Only you can decide what is at risk, how much of it you want to manage yourselves, and what the service provider offers that is of value to you, of  course.