zinaarana
Level 2

Client was part-year Kansas resident who worked in Missouri and part year Colorado resident. For the part year they were Kansas resident, the source of their income is in MO. However I can't figure out how to give them that credit in Kansas since it's not the state of residence at the end of the year. Any ideas?

0 Cheers
George4Tacks
Level 15

From https://www.ksrevenue.org/faqs-taxii.html

What if I am a resident of another state with income from Kansas?

You are required to file a Kansas income tax return. File as a nonresident and complete Kansas Schedule S, Part B.

Go to the form (KS Sch S) and look over part B. Click on the lines that need to be completed and it (hopefully) will take you to the right entry area. 

Support MIGHT be able to help you unfold this. 

Here's wishing you many Happy Returns
zinaarana
Level 2

thanks! I have read the Kansas website and I am almost confident on how it's supposed to look. I can't figure out how to input in Proconnect. I will try support for that. The only doubt I still have is that the Kansas Sch S only asks for total income and Kansas sourced income. Technically, no income is sourced in Kansas.

0 Cheers
PhoebeRoberts
Level 11
Level 11

The MO wages during the period of residency is considered KS-source income ("any items of income, gain or loss, or deduction received while a Kansas resident (whether or not items were from Kansas sources)") per page 18 of the KS instructions. You use the worksheet on page 8 to calculate the credit for taxes paid to other states for part-year residents.

Lacerte will not compute the KS other state tax credit when the taxpayer isn't a full-year KS resident, so I think ProConnect won't, either. I think you have to do the calculation manually and make entries in the Other State Tax Credit section under State & Local. (In Lacerte, that's Screen 52.061, but ProConnect doesn't have handy screen numbers like that.)

itonewbie
Level 15