DTNY07
Level 7

Client had already received $4,200 in the third stimulus payment.  $1,400 each for him, the spouse and their daughter.  Daughter was in college during 2019 and their dependent

Daughter graduated in 2020 and filed on her own for 2020.  So, she received the 1st 2 stimulus checks with the return.  But now she also was sent the extra $1,400

So, one person received it twice.  I googled and one article says to pay it back.  it was from a market watch article.  Nothing come up on this message board.  But turbo tax came up and the thread said to keep it, they won't want it back

Which is correct?  This is the first client (I do prepare the daughter's as well) that has had this happen.  I am sure I will have others.

Thanks for any help

0 Cheers
BobKamman
Level 15

Happens all the time.  Keep it.  Worry about something important, like the climate emergency.  

DTNY07
Level 7

Thanks for the info.  I'm a one CPA firm (my wife is my office manager), so it's not like I've had hundreds of clients with this.  But I know I have had at least 5 others that I filed after the two of theirs, where the child is no longer a dependent as they filed on their own, so I figured  I should ask here.

BobKamman
Level 15

This issue has been around since the CARES Act more than a year ago.  It didn't arise with EIP3; we dealt with it through EIP1 and EIP2.  Whatever you're doing for continuing education, do something else.  

DTNY07
Level 7

How would someone college age receive a double payment with stimulus 1st payment or stimulus 2nd payment?  Over 17 and claimed by someone else = there wasn't the stimulus payment added for that person.  Which is why then this person can get the 1,200 and 600 by filing their 2020 return and claiming themselves.   

So, I have no clue why you made the comment you just made to me.  My question had nothing to do with anything from last year.

0 Cheers
qbteachmt
Level 15

"Nothing come up on this message board."